Blood was definitely spilt thanks to Taylor Swift and Kendrick Lamar

So I’m not out to post anything fresh it seems, because right now I want to write about the latest release from Taylor Swift: the epic release of the Bad Blood video.

I know, I know. You’re all like “But that video came out days ago… we’ve all seen it. The novelty isn’t there anymore…”

Excuuuse me, but I’m still a little giddy over it.

Taylor really pulled out all the stops on this video. And I’m not just talking about the actual video itself.

The build-up to this video made it one of the most anticipated moments this month. Tweeting posters for the film that looked like promo material for a Sin City/Neo Noir film, the baddest women in fashion/film/TV were revealed as cast members, aaand it just so happened that joining them would be the hottest rapper of this year AKA Kendrick Lamar!? Am I hiding the excitement I was feeling well here?

Taylor basically mixed all my loves here and put it in one big package with a big glittery/bloody bow (a bit of a weird bow I know) on it ready for me to unwrap.

Now I’m not going to lie here – I’ve always been one for honesty so let me come clean here – I hadn’t actually listened to Bad Blood before the video came out. I knooooow, don’t roll your eyes at me!

I did try to have a listen on YouTube but Taylor had that song on a tight lockdown with copyright messages on most of the videos I came across, and all I got were either pitched versions or badly sung covers (sorry)… So I gave up and did what I tend to do when it came to highly anticipated music. I decided to wait it out and get the most out of the video. (I do this with most newly released media to really get myself pumped up – the less I know about a video/song/film, the better for me.)

And as we all know it didn’t matter that I hadn’t heard Bad Blood before because in the end Swift surprised us all by using a remix that featured Kendrick (I do kinda feel like it should be “Bad Blood – Kendrick Lamar ft Taylor Swift” but I’m not complaining trust me) who, and I love him even more for this, picked the name “WELVIN DA GREAT” for his character in the video. I mean, C’MON??

From the get-go the video starts with guys getting their asses kicked by Taylor – or Catastrophe as she’s introduced – and Arsyn (otherwise known as one of Taylor’s celeb BFF’s Selena Gomez). I was getting Britney’s ‘Womanizer’ vibes at this point (I’m not the only one that got this feeling either) and at the same time I was like ‘Taylor definitely put a lot of money into thiiiis’.

AND THEN ALL OF A SUDDEN KENDRICK IS THERE. Looking like the futuristic genius he is, he starts spitting his lyrics sat in a room that could have come straight out of Tron: Legacy and this is when you really get the sci-fi, kick-ass, assassin action blockbuster feel of the video. I was literally in heaven.

And then the celebrity appearances keep coming: Karlie Kloss, Cara Delevingne, Ellie Goulding, Zendaya, Hayley Williams, Martha Hunt, Gigi Hadid, Jessica Alba, Serayah, Lily Aldridge, Lena Dunham, Cindy Crawford, Ellen Pompeo, Mariska Hargitay… I mean – just when was the last time a music video so filled with celebs??

The girls train for battle looking like they’re female assassins straight out of the film Sucker Punch, and Kendrick and Taylor hang out in their clear getaway car (which may I add is now on my list of items I want but will never get). Their training eventually leads to the girls battling it out with fire in the background (oh hey more Britney vibes – this time ‘Toxic’).

But the three things I loved most about this video were of course:

1) the surprise Kendrick/Taylor collab

2) Taylor’s nod to pop culture (sci-fi films like Tron, Britney’s music videos, bad-ass action films like Kill Bill and Sin City, inviting Lamar onto the track – I know it’s technically number 1 but it’s just so great to me ok?)

3) Taylor’s squad. Her squad are squad goals.

Mixing pop with hip hop (two genres that many like to separate and watch battle each other out on the charts) was a smart move for Swift and Lamar who are sure to reap the benefits (and already are…) from their collab. They’re not the first to do it but something about this song and video has me feeling like they’ve stepped into different waters. And the fact that it premièred on the Billboard Music Awards was also pretty smart too, and lets not forget some of the biggest names in music and fashion making appearances.

I really never thought I’d see the day when I fangirled over a Taylor Swift video/song but she proved me wrong with the Bad Blood video which is just another reason why I’m starting to see Taylor as one of the most successful artists of the past few years that will continue to grow and gain success (I kinda knew this already but she cemented it for me). She’s already worth a whopping $200 million. Who knows where she’ll go from here but who’d have thought that the blonde, curly-haired Country singer clutching a guitar would conquer the charts the way that she has…(carrying a sword, punching supermodels and sitting in cars with rappers)?

I now eagerly await to see how everyone else in the music industry is going to up their game and top one of the most explosive videos I’ve seen since… I can’t even remember when.

Leave a Reply

